+49 (0) 82 39 96 02 0 info@furwa.com

Company

About us

Furwa Furnierkanten GmbH

Furwa was founded by Mr. Armin Wiblishauser at the beginning of 1974.

Mr. Wiblishauser derived from a family who has been in the woodworking industry for generations. After having studied woodworking technology, he worked in various companies before joining the family's own production for bedroom furniture as technical director. He exactly knew the technical requirements for veneer edges when he developed this product in rolls!

The electronic veneer measuring system introduced in 1994 is replaced by the modern Kleistronik optimization and measuring imager. A new chip silo is built and the extraction technology is brought up to the latest technical standard. This eliminates the need for additional fuel oil firing.

1972

Olympic Games in Munich and last Apollo Mission. Veneer edges in continuous rolls do not exist yet.

 

1973

Mr. Wiblishauser develops the first veneer edges in continuous rolls.

 

1974

FURWA is founded - the production of reconstituted veneer rolls starts.

 

1975

The regular series production of veneer edges in continuous rolls starts.
FURWA Furnierkanten GmbH is founded on December 23th, 1977
and registered on May 30th, 1978.

 

1979

FURWA Furnierkanten GmbH moves to its present location.

 

1985

The company PWG is co-founded by Mr. Wiblishauser in order to pre-coat fleece for the fleece lamination process with PVAc adhesive onto veneers. First lacquering plant for veneer rolls - Building of a new veneer warehouse.

 

1993

Master roll production starts in the Czech Republic. The production area is enlarged due to the construction of a new building. Production area, warehouse area as well as the administration area have grown to over 4,500 sqm. The serial production of cotton backings for veneers for wickerwork starts.

 

1994

FURWA develops the Minolta electronic veneer grading system including quality management and cost management in co-operation with a partner. Production of thick veneer edges 1 – 3 mm is introduced.

 

1995

In the many years of veneer edge production, FURWA has repeatedly dealt with the latest technologies and introduced electronic veneer measurement with optimization and evaluation software as early as 1994. Today, similar systems with photo-technical evaluation are also used in other processing plants and especially in the distribution of veneers.

 

The boiling-water resistant fleece backing developed by FURWA is now indispensable for modern wood parts production in car interiors, but the development continues towards fully biodegradable products of all kinds as a substitute for plastic. Plant pots to remain in the ground are available on the market. With FURWA, there is the corresponding technical solution for replacing plastic labels.

 

1998

The first UV lacquering plant has a serial output of > than 2,000 sqm per shift.

 

1999

Production start of highly-flexible surfaces with hydro lacquers.

 

2000

Installation of a paternoster shelf system for storing up to 120,000 sqm veneer master rolls with each single roll being directly accessible.

 

2001

Development of a new fleece lamination for the automotive industry which is resistant to boiling water and long-term UV resistant.

 

2002

The series production for the automotive industry is established (veneer treatment for the production of dashboards, steering wheels, ashtray lids, etc.).

 

2003

Washable veneers are introduced at the show „Interzum“.

 

2004

A new combined UV lacquering unit is put into operation: Now highly-flexible lacquers and top surfaces are offered even more inexpensively.

 

2005

“Veneer D4 for D3” for the automotive industry and thick veneer edges 1 – 3 mm partially lead to a production at full capacity of 7 days in 3-shifts. 3D veneer for plastic rear injection moulding is introduced.

 

2006

A new press line with a pressing area of 8m x 1m is put into operation. Thick veneer edges reach a production output of more than 50%.

 

2007

The Cedarsole is launched on the market and offers effective protection against foot odour on a purely biological basis.

 

2008

Development of special edges for frameless honeycomb boards as face veneer edges for an application without supporting edge or as supporting edge for the BAZ.

 

2009

Homag/Ligna: Furwa's supporting edges are approached on the BAZ by means of 100 mm frameless honeycomb boards and a radius of 30 mm.

Successful FSC Certification (SCS-COC-002225)

Production start of flexible veneer sheets in widths up to 640 mm. Finished lacquered 3D veneer is produced for the skiing industry.

 

2010

Thick veneer edges for laser or plasma activation are marketably pre-coated. Cell phone covers for iPhones are produced with Furwa’s pre-finished lacquered 3D intarsia veneer by means of a rear injection process. FURWA precision-lasered veneers upvalue light switch elements.

Armin Wiblishauser, the founder of our company and inventor of the continuous veneer roll, passed away on December 01st, 2010.

 

2011

Furwa Furnierkanten GmbH is sold to Blazic d.o.o., Ljubljana, Slovenia in March 2011 with effect as of January 01st, 2011.

 

2012

Wooden Glasses are produced with FURWA special veneer. FURWA flexibilizes melamine resin priming edges for the door rebate.

 

2013

FURWA develops almost flame-resistant edges for aircraft interiors on behalf of Lufthansa Technik, Hamburg.

 

2015

The fully-glued mini joint is introduced to the veneer roll production.

 

2017

The electronic veneer grading system introduced in 1994 is exchanged for a modern Kleistronik Optimizing and Measuring Imager.A new chip silo is established, and the exhaust technique is updated to the latest technology.

 

2018

Start of the serial production of veneer sheets to produce real wood customer loyality cards and key cards as well the development ot the technology for wooden cards with RFID-inlay.

 

2019

Development of flame-retardant veneer edges, thick veneer edges and wrapping veneers.

 

2020

Boiling-water resistant fleece backings exceed 200,000 m² for the first time. Over 2 million wooden cards are produced with FURWA veneer.

In 2000, FURWA achieved its highest turnover to date with approx. 8 million Euros and this exclusively in their veneer roll production. It is thanks to the development of the 3D veneer sector that the crisis years could be overcome. Since 2013, Furwa has again achieved sales growth in all areas and supplies veneer rolls to all 5 continents.

 

Veneer is ecologically one of the most effective surface materials.

2021

FurCard or Bio-FurCard as a special veneer for the printing industry, and there above all as an ecologically clean substitute for plastic labels in the field of potted plants and garden markets are ready for serial production.

 

FURWA Furnierkanten GmbH in figures:
Production output 2020: more than 1.15 million sqm continuous veneer rolls and
special finishes
Employees 2020: 37
Turnover 2021: approx. 6.8 million Euro
Exports 2021: 77%

2022 and the future:

In addition to the veneer edges and thick veneer edges, Furwa is also expanding the 3-D veneers for the automotive industry. But the area for wooden cards as bank cards is also being further developed. The field of special products, which also includes veneer inserts, reach 25% of the turnover.

On 01.04.2022 the management of the company is transferred from Mr. Roland Reigbert to Mr. Klaus Müller. Mr. Reigbert will leave the company on 31.07.2022 but will remain available to the company for special tasks.

From an ecological point of view, veneer is one of the most effective surface materials in the world, but it can also be more than just a substitute in many areas, it is also an overall ecologically better product if it is used with high-tech finishing. We are working on this with our partners.

 

Continents

Employees

%

Export

Q&A

Why us?

Furwa is the oldest manufacturer of veneer edges in continuous rolls world-wide, and produces all customary edge types still today, such as real veneer edges, reconstituted veneer edges, thick veneer edges and profile wrapping veneers, at its plant in Walkertshofen.

From the base of the simple veneer edge, the technically demanding real veneer edge for door rebates in real wood has already been invented very early, which is produced highly-flexible lacquered and colour-set by Furwa in its standard production.

Today, FURWA is also an innovative specialist for veneer treatments of 3D formings, in particular for those veneers used for bondings and also used for the plastic rear injection moulding process in the automotive industry.

oldest Manufacturers

FSC certified

innovative Specialist for Veneer finishes

3D Deformations

Technically sophisticated

Made in Germany

%

Customer satisfaction

Write to us

5 + 8 =

en_USEnglish

+49 (0) 82 39 96 02 0 info@furwa.com

Unternehmen

Über uns

Furwa Furnierkanten GmbH

Furwa wurde Anfang 1974 von Herrn Armin Wiblishauser gegründet.

Herr Wiblishauser stammt aus einer Familie, die seit Generationen in der Holzbranche tätig war. Nach seinem Studium der Holztechnik arbeitete er in verschiedenen Firmen, bevor er als technischer Leiter in die familieneigene Produktion für Schlafraummöbel eintrat. Er kannte die technischen Anforderungen an Furnierkanten genau, als er dieses Produkt in Rollen entwickelte!

Die 1994 eingeführte elektronische Furniervermessung wird gegen den modernen Kleistronik Optimierungs- und Vermessungs-Imager ausgetauscht. Ein Späne-Silo wird neu errichtet und die Absaugtechnik auf neuesten technischen Stand gebracht. Hierdurch entfällt die teilweise notwendige zusätzliche Feuerung mit Heizöl.

1972

Olympiade München und letzter Apollo-Flug zum Mond. Es gibt noch keine Endlosfurnierkanten.

 

1973

Herr Wiblishauser entwickelt die ersten Endlosfurnierkanten in Rollen.

 

1974

FURWA wird gegründet – Fineline-Rollenproduktion beginnt.

 

1975

Jetzt kann man von einer echten Serienproduktion von Endlosfurnierkanten sprechen.
23.12.1977 FURWA Furnierkanten GmbH wird gegründet.
30.05.1978 und ins Handelsregister eingetragen.

 

1979

FURWA Furnierkanten GmbH zieht an den heutigen Firmensitz.

 

1985

Firma PWG wird von Herrn Wiblishauser mitgegründet, um Vlies für die Furnierkaschierung mit PVAc-Leim zu beschichten. Erste Lackieranlage für Furnierrollen – Neubau einer Furnierlagerhalle.

 

1993

Die Mutterrollen-Produktion startet in Tschechien. Ein Neubau vergrößert die Produktionsfläche. Jetzt stehen 4.500 m² für Produktion, Lager und Verwaltung zur Verfügung. Die Serienproduktion von Baumwollgeweberückseite für Flechtwerkfurniere beginnt.

 

1994

FURWA entwickelt zusammen mit einem Partner die elektronische Furniervermessung mit Qualitäts- und Kostenmanagement. Produktionsstart von Starkfurnierkanten 1 – 3 mm.

 

1995

FURWA hat sich in den vielen Jahren der Produktion von Furnierkanten mehrfach mit den neuesten Technologien befasst und schon 1994 eine elektronische Furniervermessung mit Optimierungs- und Auswertungs-Software eingeführt. Heute werden ähnliche Systeme mit fototechnischer Auswertung auch in anderen Verarbeitungsbetrieben und vor allem im Vertrieb von Furnieren eingesetzt.

 

Die von FURWA entwickelte kochwasserfeste Vliesrückseite ist heute für die moderne Holzteileproduktion im Pkw-Interieur nicht mehr wegzudenken, aber die Entwicklung geht weiter zu vollbiologisch abbaubaren Produkten aller Art als Ersatz für Kunststoff. Pflanztöpfe zum Verbleib im Boden sind am Markt vorhanden. Mit FURWA gibt es die entsprechende technische Lösung zum Austausch von Plastiketiketten.

 

1998

Die erste UV-Lack-Anlage produziert in Serie über 2.000 m²/Schicht.

 

1999

Start der Produktion von hochflexiblen Oberflächen mit Hydrolacken.

 

2000

Installation eines Paternoster-Regalsystems für die Lagerung von bis zu 120 000 m² Furnier-Mutterrollen und jede Rolle einzeln im Zugriff.

 

2001

Entwicklung einer kochwasserfesten und UV-langzeitstabilen Vliesrückseite für die Automobilindustrie.

 

2002

Aufnahme der Serienproduktion für die Autoindustrie (Furnierveredelung für die Produktion von Armaturenbretter, Lenkräder, Aschenbecherdeckel, etc.).

 

2003

Waschbare Furniere werden auf der Messe Interzum Vorgestellt.

 

2004

Inbetriebnahme einer neuen kombinierten UV-Lack-Anlage: Hochflexible Lacke und Top-Oberflächen werden jetzt noch preisgünstiger angeboten.

 

2005

Die Furnierveredelung für die Autoindustrie und die Starkfurnierkanten 1 – 3 mm führen teilweise zur Vollauslastung 7 Tagen im 3-Schichtbetrieb. 3D-Furnier für den Kunststoffhinterspritzprozess wird eingeführt.

 

2006

Eine neue Pressenanlage mit Pressfläche 8m x 1m wird in Betrieb genommen. Starkfurnierkanten erreichen über 50 % des Produktionsausstoßes.

 

2007

Die Zedern-Sohlen-Produktion startet und bietet auf rein biologischer Basis wirksamen Schutz gegen Fußgeruch.

 

2008

Entwicklung der Spezialkanten für rahmenlose Wabenplatten als Deckkante für den Einsatz ohne Stützkante bzw. als Stützkante für das BAZ.

 

2009

Homag/Ligna: auf dem BAZ werden Furwa-Stützkanten an rahmenlose Wabenplatten mit Plattenstärke 100 mm und Radius 30 mm angefahren.

Erfolgreiche FSC-Zertifizierung (SCS-COC-002225)

Produktionsaufnahme flexibler Furnierblätter in Breiten bis 640 mm. Fertig lackiertes 3D-Furnier für die Ski-Industrie.

 

2010

Starkfurnierkanten für Laser- oder Plasma-Aktivierung werden marktfähig vorbeschichtet. I-Phone Handyschalen werden mit fertig lackiertem 3D-Intarsienfurnier der Fa. Furwa im Hinterspritzprozess hergestellt. Präzisionsgelaserte Spezialfurniere von Furwa werten Lichtschalter-Elemente auf.

Armin Wiblishauser, der Erfinder der heutigen Endlosfurnierkante und unser Firmengründer, verstirbt am 01.12.2010.

 

2011

Die Furwa Furnierkanten GmbH wird im März 2011 rückwirkend zum 01.01.2011 an die Firma Blazic d.o.o., Ljubljana, Slowenien verkauft.

 

2012

Brillen werden mit Furwa-Spezialfurnier produziert. Furwa flexibilisiert Melaminharz-Grundierkanten für den Türfalz.

 

2013

Furwa entwickelt schwerstentflammbare Kanten für den Flugzeuginnenausbau im Auftrag von Lufthansa Technik, Hamburg.

 

2015

Der fest verleimte Minizinken wird in der Furnierrollen-Produktion eingeführt.

 

2017

Die 1994 eingeführte elektronische Furniervermessung wird gegen den modernen Kleistronik Optimierungs- und Vermessungs-Imager ausgetauscht. Ein Späne-Silo wird neu errichtet und die Absaugtechnik auf neuesten technischen Stand gebracht.

 

2018

Aufnahme der Großserienproduktion von Furnierblättern für die Herstellung von Echtholz-Kundenbindungskarten und Schlüsselkarten sowie Entwicklung der Technik für Holzkarten mit RFID-Inlay.

 

2019

Schwer entflammbare Furnierkanten, Starkfurnierkanten und Ummantelungsfurnieren werden entwickelt.

 

2020

Kochwasserfeste Vliesrückseiten übersteigen erstmals 200.000 m². Über 2 Mio. Holzkarten werden mit FURWA-Furnier erzeugt.

FURWA erreichte im Jahr 2000 den bisher höchsten Umsatz mit ca. 8 Mio. €uro und dies ausschließlich in der Furnier-Rollen-Produktion. Der Entwicklung des Bereichs 3D-Furnier ist es zu verdanken, dass die Krisenjahre überwunden werden konnten. Seit 2013 erreicht Furwa wieder in allen Bereichen Umsatzzuwächse und liefert Furnierrollen auf alle 5 Kontinente.

 

Furnier ist ökologisch gesehen einer der effektivsten Oberflächenwerkstoffe.

2021

FurCard bzw. Bio-FurCard als Spezialfurnier für die Druckindustrie, und dort vor allem als ökologisch sauberer Ersatz für Plastiketiketten im Bereich von Topfpflanzen und den Gartenmärkten sind serienreif.

 

FURWA Furnierkanten GmbH in Zahlen:
Produktionsausstoß 2020: über 1,15 Mio. qm Endlosfurnierrollen und
Spezialveredelungen
Mitarbeiter 2020: 37
Umsatz 2021: ca. 6,8 Mio Euro
Exportanteil 2021: 77%

2022 und Zukunft

Furwa baut neben den Furnierkanten und Starkfurnierkanten vor allem die 3-D Furniere für die Autoindustrie weiter aus. Aber auch der Bereich für Holzkarten als Bankenkarte wird weiterentwickelt. Die Schiene der Sonderprodukte, die auch Furniereinlegesohlen mit umfasst, erreichen 25 % des Umsatzes.

Zum 01.04.2022 wird die Geschäftsführung von Herrn Roland Reigbert an Herrn Klaus Müller übertragen. Herr Reigbert scheidet zum 31.07.2022 aus dem Unternehmen aus, steht allerdings für Sonderaufgaben dem Unternehmen weiter zur Verfügung.

Furnier ist ökologisch gesehen einer der effektivsten Oberflächenwerkstoffe der Welt, kann aber auch in vielen Bereichen mehr sein, als nur Ersatz, sondern ein insgesamt ökologisch besseres Produkt, wenn es nur hochtechnisch veredelt eingesetzt wird. Hieran arbeiten wir mit unseren Partnern.

 

Kontinente

Mitarbeiter

%

Exportanteil

Q&A

Warum gerade uns?

Furwa ist der älteste Hersteller von Furnierkanten in Endlosrollen der Welt und produziert auch heute noch alle gängigen Kantentypen wie Echtfurnierkanten, Finelinekanten, Starkfurnierkanten und Ummantelungsfurniere am Standort in Walkertshofen.

Aus der einfachen Furnierkante wurde schon sehr früh die technisch anspruchsvolle Türfalzkante in Echtholz entwickelt, die heute hochflexibel lackiert und farbeingestellt als Standard von Fa. Furwa produziert wird.

Furwa ist heute auch innovativer Spezialist für Furnierveredelungen für 3D Verformungen, hier im Speziellen für Furniere wie sie in der Autoindustrie verklebt oder auch im Kunststoff-Hinterspritzprozess eingesetzt werden.

älteste Hersteller

FSC zertifiziert

innovativer Spezialist für Furnierveredelungen

3D Verformungen

technisch anspruchsvoll

Made in Germany

%

Kundenzufreidenheit

Schreiben Sie uns

12 + 6 =

de_DEGerman